Cruise Control Radar and AVSM Issue - Kia K900 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-23-2017, 10:02 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Question Cruise Control Radar and AVSM Issue

About 59k on my 2015 K900 (I bought it with 45k on it in 1 yr from someone in TX!) and the cruise control radar system would turn on and I'd adjust to 2 cars and then ... it wouldn't auto slow down. At all.

I tried different distances and it would not adjust for the car length setting at all. Cruise control worked fine, just no auto radar. It was at this same time I noticed the "AVSM Off" light on the dash was lit. This is the Automatic Vehicle Safety Management system that will light up and flash your dash if you're about to slam into someone and/or buzz your seatbelt. Pretty sure both auto cruise distance and AVSM are related to the radar in the front of the car.

Then, today, I tried to turn cruise control on the highway and got in the HUD the cruise distance with a big red circle (e.g., do not enter red circle) and the cruise control would NOT work. Then, I was in lovely stop and go Denver traffic and everyone slammed on their brakes and got NO AVSM even though the AVSM light was not lit.

So, trying to call into Littleton Kia and make a warranty claim before I pop 60k, but wondering if anyone else has had this happen yet.
coronad0 is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 03-08-2017, 11:47 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quick Update: Of course the dealer took the car out for 3 miles and could not recreate the issue. It is now intermittent. Works sometimes, freaks out and no-cruise control sometimes ... about to pop 60k! Ugh.
coronad0 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-08-2017, 12:02 PM
Super Moderator
 
Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Take video of it happening, showing the mileage on the video
Gene is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 04-11-2017, 11:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Default

Did you get this resolved OP?

In memory of Robert E. Flynn
J. Dub is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-19-2017, 02:34 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

No ... It now works intermittently; seems to be the very first time I turn the cruise control on, it works fine. Then, say I turn it off or hit the brakes and hit "set" again, I get no AVSM cruise control. Have to hold the AVSM button for 5 seconds to turn off and use regular cruise like a caveman again.

I am now out of warranty, took videos and might post them here when I can.
coronad0 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-19-2017, 09:36 PM
Super Moderator
 
Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Garage
Default

You ask to have it fixed before the 60K so if you can now get them to see how it works,
you might still be able to get it repaired under warranty. Call customer service if you can
show the service manager what it is doing
Gene is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-19-2017, 11:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the good advice ... seeing them on Monday for the start/stop button issue anyway!
coronad0 is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome