missing engine cover piece? - Kia K900 Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By K9Intender
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-17-2018, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Default missing engine cover piece?

I've been going over the car intensely this weekend, looking for things I want CarMax to fix while the 30 day warranty is still in effect.

I've discovered the left side (as you face the car) engine cover is really loose; it's got no fasteners. It almost looks to me like it's missing a piece at the extreme leftmost corner, too, but I'm not sure.

Would you guys mind looking where the arrow is pointing in the attachment and telling me if there's something gone that should be there?

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg UnderHoodShotSomethingMissing.jpg (395.3 KB, 11 views)
joelischynski likes this.
K9Intender is offline  
post #2 of 5 Old 06-18-2018, 12:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Default

Yes, you are missing a small trim panel that covers that area.
Zathras is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-18-2018, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Similarly, while mine is not missing the small panel like yours, I did find that most of the plastic holding pins in the engine bay are missing. Probably caused by careless removal on initial attempt (by owner or dealer) to check/change air filter or something like that. I have been meaning to search out where to get those replacement pins. There are two different sizes based on which panel they are holding.

Has anyone managed to find those plastic replacement pins?

2015 K900 - Black on Black, VIP package
joelischynski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 06-18-2018, 01:01 PM
Super Moderator
 
Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Garage
Default

I had a pin missing when I had the Cadenza, was able to find them at auto zone one day.
When one came up missing, after dealer service, I found the pin from the Cadenza worked on my K900
Gene is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-18-2018, 11:24 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Default

I've just been reading the jump start procedure in the manual. Apparently you have to pull up those left side panels to do this. I'm thinking somebody did that on my car and just didn't bother to put it all back together.

BTW, there are jump start plugs that you can get to make a jump connection without clamps.

https://www.awdirect.com/jump-start-sets/

Why don't all cars just have one of these?
K9Intender is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome