Map Update - Page 6 - Kia K900 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #51 of 74 Old 05-17-2019, 10:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Have you tried it one station at a time?

Toggle your central controller to the right. Tune the station you want. Press down on the controller.

That should move you back over to the left part of the screen. Scroll up and down to you get the preset number that you want to assign to that station.

Press down on the controller again and it will save that station in that preset slot.

There may be a way to reset all of them to station one. But I haven't played with the system long enough to find that.

When I got my car all 18 presets were set to XM one.

Bruce
Dr.W is offline  
post #52 of 74 Old 08-17-2020, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Garage
Default

I swear my car is possessed. The same HOUR that I simply mention I am trading it in, it decides to lock up the Infotainment system again. The last time it happened was Dec 2018, when I also was simply considering trading it up for a newer one at that time.

So of course I came back to this specific thread topic to figure out what I did last time to make it unlock itself. For the past 2 hours, I have tried every single trick mentioned here in the previous 6 pages to no avail. I gave up and made an appointment with my service shop to take a look at it. As I was getting ready to take it over there, I decided to try a couple more times on the reset options. AND of course it came back on this time.

But here is a new one for the Reset procedures - 1) Press the reset button while turning off the ignition 2) Restart the car and let it come up with its freeze screen 3) TURN OFF THE A/C, and do one more reset. Boom, system comes up and running.

2015 K900 - Black on Black, VIP package
joelischynski is offline  
post #53 of 74 Old 08-18-2020, 01:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelischynski View Post
I swear my car is possessed. The same HOUR that I simply mention I am trading it in, it decides to lock up the Infotainment system again. The last time it happened was Dec 2018, when I also was simply considering trading it up for a newer one at that time.

So of course I came back to this specific thread topic to figure out what I did last time to make it unlock itself. For the past 2 hours, I have tried every single trick mentioned here in the previous 6 pages to no avail. I gave up and made an appointment with my service shop to take a look at it. As I was getting ready to take it over there, I decided to try a couple more times on the reset options. AND of course it came back on this time.

But here is a new one for the Reset procedures - 1) Press the reset button while turning off the ignition 2) Restart the car and let it come up with its freeze screen 3) TURN OFF THE A/C, and do one more reset. Boom, system comes up and running.
.

Is this a common issue with the cars?! What took for or any glitches to be aware of? Thanks....
The Ikon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 74 Old 08-19-2020, 12:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
1) Press the reset button while turning off the ignition 2) Restart the car and let it come up with its freeze screen 3) TURN OFF THE A/C, and do one more reset. Boom, system comes up and running.

Good grief, joelischynski, that is pretty much like an incantation! It sounds like you have to go to great lengths to propitiate the little screen demon. Let's hope it never demands a boiling cauldron of anything--would probably be hard on the upholstery! :-)


The Icon, you will find this problem mentioned in quite a few threads around here, so it's not uncommon. I myself have not experienced it. (Let's hope I haven't activated my demon with that remark!)

2016 V8 VIP+, black with white interior
K9Intender is offline  
post #55 of 74 Old 09-08-2020, 08:19 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Garage
Default

my 2015 K900 VIP multimedia screen locked up yesterday just from use. haven't updated it since spring of 2019 so wasn't in an update mode.


i found I had to press and hold the reset button for bit. i watched the screen blip about 10 times and then released the reset button.. the system rebooted and started up again. however some settings in the radio had to be reset. didn't lose presets or any music on the jukebox that i know of.


first time this had happened to me.



just fyi

RMartin
Dallas, TX
2015 K900 VIP Titanium Bronze over White interior
rsmartin61 is offline  
post #56 of 74 Old 09-29-2020, 08:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

I’m new to the forum and owner of a 2019 K900 VIP. I saw a map update was available for my car. I opted for the free download and used a new USB drive, I used a 64G but they said 32G USB was big enough. The hardest part was finding on my MAC where the downloader icon was placed which I found within Launchpad (I so rarely use my MAC). It did take about an hour for the download. I thought it had locked up at about the 40” mark when it was 99% complete but it resumed in about 10” and loaded the a second file. Went to car. Plugged USB in first then turned car to on with everything else shut off (radio, A/C, etc.). It asked to start download, and away it went. Rebooted on its own and up and working. No glitches. Will see if it holds up. Maybe I’m lucky.
Lscrna is offline  
post #57 of 74 Old 10-01-2020, 07:48 PM
Member
 
K900 Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Default

I did the fall 2020 map update on my 2019 K900 today and it went without any problems. It is important that you turn off the Bluetooth on your phone if it is connected to the car before you start the update.
K900 Pilot is offline  
post #58 of 74 Old 10-09-2020, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Default

I did the update with no problems. One thing is odd is when I am in reverse the radio volume is reduced. In drive or park it is normal.

At least that stupid warning screen goes away quickly after starting. Six years of having it blast me in the face until I manually released it.
Lifer is offline  
post #59 of 74 Old 10-11-2020, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Default

Yes, Lifer, I know what you mean. That lowered volume on reverse was on my car too when I first got it. I believe it's so you can be sure to hear the beeping of the proximity sensors when you get close to something.



Somehow during my tussles with the map update, it went away. I'm sorry I don't know what you have to do to make that happen. Somebody here probably does.

2016 V8 VIP+, black with white interior
K9Intender is offline  
post #60 of 74 Old 11-01-2020, 04:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Default

Sooo, I finally got around to updating the maps on my 2019 this weekend. Since I couldn’t find a summary of changes anywhere, here is what I learned….

It took ~30 min to download the update to my computer. 20 min to copy it from my computer to my memory stick, 40 min for the car to download it from the memory stick and 15 min to install. The head unit was non-functional for only the last 15 min. The update did erase all of my XM Radio and FM radio presets, however after driving around for 15 min, they returned (I guess it needed drive time to do final calibrations)

The changes I noticed were:
The general look of the map has been updated along with some of the functionality (I think it is more google mapish now), some missing roads in my area have been updated and and/or corrected. There is now what appears to be a speed camera function. I have a few well know speed cameras in my area so I drove by them both with and without navigation running and nothing happened. I suspect there is some legal aspect that determines which cameras play ball and which don’t.

There is now a “Sounds of Nature” feature which gives you a couple of pre-canned nature tracks to listen too. Now that I have clicked on them once, I doubt I will ever touch them again.

On the HVAC display, the color of the blowing air on the screen now corresponds with temp you set (red/blue). Perhaps it did that before and I never noticed it.

The whole HD weather app thing was removed or relocated (it never worked for me anyway) and replaced by a UVO function. I suspect that will work once I turn on my UVO subscription for the winter months (I need that remote start!!!). Also, now that the HD weather thing is gone, my HD Doppler radar/traffic/gas works.

My IPod music art now displays across the entire screen (including the scrollable playlist) as a background watermark.

The Quantum Logic Sound (QLS) setting is now present on the audio home display as a quick toggle button.

The sound balance display (left/right front/rear) was updated. Same function, new look.

To me the most important update was something I complained to Kia about early on. Previously when playing a playlist the display would only tell me how many tracks were in the playlist, so it would only say 400.. However, after the update, it shows like every other modern car, track xx/400. I think my head unit just had issues early on and needed and update to iron out some gremlins…

I never use android auto or apple car play so I can’t speak to those.

There is also this doc I found in the Telluride forum
https://storage.googleapis.com/mapca...atures_U5W.pdf


Anyone see anything else?

Last edited by promethus7; 11-01-2020 at 07:07 PM.
promethus7 is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome