Map Update - Page 2 - Kia K900 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 52 Old 03-19-2018, 09:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Default

That sucks. Hopefully you get an answer in the morning. I won’t be trying mine until I hear back on this.

2015 K900 - Black on Black, VIP package
joelischynski is offline  
post #12 of 52 Old 03-20-2018, 10:34 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Default

I finally got the new navigation software to work. Had to push the small reset button to the right of the CD player. Still waiting for the tech call from mnsoft, since the version it shows in my updated system is NA.11.41.52.661, not the ...51.xxx listed in the instruction manual I received with the USB.
jlegener is offline  
post #13 of 52 Old 03-20-2018, 10:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlegener View Post
I finally got the new navigation software to work. Had to push the small reset button to the right of the CD player. Still waiting for the tech call from mnsoft, since the version it shows in my updated system is NA.11.41.52.661, not the ...51.xxx listed in the instruction manual I received with the USB.
Interesting. My instruction manual shows the 'Map Version After Update' = NA.11.41.52.XXX (Version 12)

I will attempt my install after work today.

2015 K900 - Black on Black, VIP package
joelischynski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 52 Old 03-20-2018, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Default

POS software. I now have the same problem you did of having a locked screen after the update. The reset button does not fix it. I am waiting for a call back from MnSoft.

Was this the screen you had on lockup?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180320_150116 (1).jpg (587.6 KB, 18 views)

2015 K900 - Black on Black, VIP package
joelischynski is offline  
post #15 of 52 Old 03-20-2018, 08:44 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Default

Yes, that is the same screen. The very small reset button has to be pushed and held in for a couple of seconds. If that does not work, try using a metric wrench and unhook the positive battery terminal in the trunk, on the right side under the mats. After 15 seconds, hook the battery back up. The Kia dealer told me that has worked for them in the past.
jlegener is offline  
post #16 of 52 Old 03-20-2018, 09:09 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Default

Just a small addition, the software company never did call me back or make any attempt to fix the problem their software created.
jlegener is offline  
post #17 of 52 Old 03-20-2018, 09:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlegener View Post
Yes, that is the same screen. The very small reset button has to be pushed and held in for a couple of seconds. If that does not work, try using a metric wrench and unhook the positive battery terminal in the trunk, on the right side under the mats. After 15 seconds, hook the battery back up. The Kia dealer told me that has worked for them in the past.
Thanks for the suggestion. No luck though. (But that is a crazy setup they have on the positive battery terminal. Have you guys actually taken a look at it?)

Anyway, I guess I will have to wait and see what I get back from the support team on it.

2015 K900 - Black on Black, VIP package
joelischynski is offline  
post #18 of 52 Old 03-21-2018, 01:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Just an update. I finally got it working again. After trying every combination of buttons and restarts I could think of, I finally found the combination that worked.

Holding the Reset Button down WHILE starting the car is what finally did it.

2015 K900 - Black on Black, VIP package
joelischynski is offline  
post #19 of 52 Old 03-21-2018, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Default

dont know if i want to chance it - geesh

this is just a simple map update, no additional function or graphics?
vegasplanner is offline  
post #20 of 52 Old 03-23-2018, 10:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vegasplanner View Post
dont know if i want to chance it - geesh

this is just a simple map update, no additional function or graphics?
Impact mainly to navigation. Completely updated to current map design and functionality (even HUD has new navigation icons). If you are still on 2014 maps, I think its worth it, but if you already have an update where the warning screen goes away by itself after 6 seconds then maybe not. This is my road trip car, so it is worth it to me.

I also noticed a few additional options in the settings screen, but other than that no graphics changes to any of the apps outside of navigation that I noticed. Obviously no Android Auto or Carplay.

What I don't understand is how a 2015 Kia Soul can get the Android Auto update, but not the 2015 K900?

2015 K900 - Black on Black, VIP package
joelischynski is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome