map and navigation update - Page 3 - Kia K900 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #21 of 35 Old 08-28-2015, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racerjack44 View Post
Hello,
My dealer has attempted to update my map and in process messed up the display screen. It became a black screen. Resets did nothing. Finally got replacement unit installed with older map version and VOICE commands no longer work and when using the phone via bluetooth we get a beeping sound while the call is active.

Going back to the dealer again as they should have verified map version and that all worked before returning car.
I want the most updated version like everyone else but it is fore sure not worth those headaches. Did the dealer or if you can find out once it is totally functioning what went wrong and how we all can avoid that




Larry
2015 k900 V6 Premium Edition Metallic Silver
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #22 of 35 Old 08-28-2015, 04:40 PM
Junior Member
 
moelov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Sorry to hear about the mishaps with Map update. My dealer had issues with the update as well, however they were able to get it reset and install the current version. The only thing I wasn't please with when the update failed they wanted me to take a used Sorento that stunk, very foul odor to use over night. They had on lot a dealers demo V.I.P version, which they said they could not give to me without reason. Got on my cell called Kia V.I.P program, which advised the dealership to give me the demo car to use. Didn't have to take it because their tech had corrected the issue with the installation. So since they had run the engine for well over an hour they filled my tank for free, plus stated that they will completely detail the car and fill it up again the next time I'm there.

Moevlov4U
moelov is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 08-28-2015, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Just make sure you unpair any and all phones before starting.
Gene is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 35 Old 10-04-2015, 02:30 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Default Map Update

A bit late in providing additional information.

My dealer did get the latest, at this time (Sept 2015) update installed and fixed all the other problems with com system as result of improper install the first time.

Dealer paid for the update and service issues as the help of Karla from corporate Kia customer service.
racerjack44 is offline  
post #25 of 35 Old 05-16-2017, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Default

I heard the latest update automatically will agree on the nav screen when you turn the car on. Is this true?

In memory of Robert E. Flynn
J. Dub is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 05-22-2017, 05:51 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Dub View Post
I heard the latest update automatically will agree on the nav screen when you turn the car on. Is this true?
yes.. after a certain amount of seconds it will just bring you to whatever source you turned it off on..
Josh Goldberg is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 05-22-2017, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Default

is it the sept 2015 version that eliminates the agree button being pressed? my dealer claims no knowledge of an update to the k900 audio/nav system. any further info would help, thanks.
Dave H is offline  
post #28 of 35 Old 05-23-2017, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Garage
Default

Go to mapnsoft.com and you will see the update.
Yes it updates the firmware and maps.
The agree will disappear after 10 seconds.
Take some screen shots on your phone to show dealer.
You can check the version on your car.
Be sure and lookup the type of update by firmware version
Use the wrong one and screw up the system.
Make sure you unpair any phones before update.
call customer support and tell them dealer says there was
no update in sept 2015, ask them to ask dealer to try update.
If that doesn't fix it, have head unit replaced.

Last edited by Gene; 05-23-2017 at 01:00 PM.
Gene is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 05-23-2017, 02:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Default

thanks Gene. My dealer called me today and said there is a new 2017 update addressing my issues exactly. I'm taking it in tomorrow to have it updated at no charge and hopefully the problems are fixed.

I'll post my results!
Dave H is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 05-25-2017, 01:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Goldberg View Post
yes.. after a certain amount of seconds it will just bring you to whatever source you turned it off on..
Great news.

In memory of Robert E. Flynn
J. Dub is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome