Snow - Kia K900 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 01-11-2016, 01:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Default Snow

Has any K900 owner driven through snow yet and if so how does the snow mode work and are you using snow tires ? Also was it a dusting or serious snow fall ? We have yet to have a snow fall of any significance in Vancouver but who knows with all this crazy weather on the west coast

Larry
2015 k900 V6 Premium Edition Metallic Silver
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #2 of 17 Old 01-11-2016, 02:05 PM
Member
 
OneFunK900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Default

Hey there Funnyman,

I have had a dusting of snow and I am just running the stock Hankook all-seasons. This is my first experience without snow tires. The dusting defeated the car in normal mode. I switch to Snow Mode and got her going but it was a slug. There is very little power in this mode as it starts in a higher gear to lessen the torque. I will be running the all-seasons year round as my old snow tires and wheels do not fit my K900

2015 Kia K900 Luxury with VIP Package. Bright Silver on Black
OneFunK900 is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 01-11-2016, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Default

We have not had snow this year yet but have had ice with one morning. The snow mode did make a big difference but I will be changing the all season tires to seasonal.
Ptrs is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 Old 01-11-2016, 07:24 PM
Super Moderator
 
Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Default

I have continental extreme contact DWS 06 tires on my K900.
best all season ever made. check them out on tire rack.
I'm in Arizona and we of a lot of snow on the mountain at Flagstaff.
It is over 7000 ft. high, we went through there 3 days ago during a
hard snow storm. Drove in the 8" of unplowed snow with no problem
Used the snow mode, never spun a wheel. The snow mode cuts back
on the power and keeps you from spinning out. No hot rodding in snow
mode. You drive like an old man. Wait I am an old man.
Don't know about the Hankook tires but these are great and I'm not
going to use snow tires even going to Denver.
Gene is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 01-12-2016, 05:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Default

Gene those Continental "all season" would not be allowed without chains on most high pass highways in both Canada and the United States . To avoid chains you would need a tire that has a snow flake icon on the side wall .I am not sure Continental's have such markings. I do know that the Rokian tires made in Finland have that distinction and thus are advertised as all weather . Many tire reports I have read suggest all season tires are three season tires . I am glad you had no difficulty when using snow mode and the Continentals . Vancouver has yet to have any snowfall so my snow tires and snow mode have not been tested .

Larry
2015 k900 V6 Premium Edition Metallic Silver
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 01-12-2016, 08:48 PM
Super Moderator
 
Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Default

I have chains but carry them in the trunk.
Rt.17 to flagstaff used to require chains or 4 wheel drive.
that has changed here now and they are no longer required
No the continentals don't have a snow flack.
I go to Denver thru Utah and over the pass there 11,000 ft.
and have never been stopped to check the tires.
Don't think our cops want to get out of the car to check.
You will like the snow mode unless you are one of those
who always has to go like it was summer.
Let us know how you like it when you get snow
Gene is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 01-13-2016, 03:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gene View Post
I have chains but carry them in the trunk.
Rt.17 to flagstaff used to require chains or 4 wheel drive.
that has changed here now and they are no longer required
No the continentals don't have a snow flack.
I go to Denver thru Utah and over the pass there 11,000 ft.
and have never been stopped to check the tires.
Don't think our cops want to get out of the car to check.
You will like the snow mode unless you are one of those
who always has to go like it was summer.
Let us know how you like it when you get snow
I am not a speed demon and if and I hope we don't, get snow I will report back how I found my snow mode and my new snow tires . Good luck on your upcoming drive through Northern Az

Larry
2015 k900 V6 Premium Edition Metallic Silver
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 01-13-2016, 04:03 PM
Member
 
OneFunK900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Default

Had a decent amount of snow this morning. About an inch left on the road. The car did not have much traction with the Hankooks. Would spin its wheels in eco mode from a stop. Also the ABS system intervened more than once in a normal commute to which I never got above 45 on a 65mph highway

2015 Kia K900 Luxury with VIP Package. Bright Silver on Black
OneFunK900 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 01-13-2016, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneFunK900 View Post
Had a decent amount of snow this morning. About an inch left on the road. The car did not have much traction with the Hankooks. Would spin its wheels in eco mode from a stop. Also the ABS system intervened more than once in a normal commute to which I never got above 45 on a 65mph highway
Why didn't you use snow mode?

Larry
2015 k900 V6 Premium Edition Metallic Silver
funnyman7915 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 01-13-2016, 06:06 PM
Member
 
OneFunK900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Default

I tried it but the throttle was way too dead. I have delegated Eco mode to every day snow driving and snow mode for deep snow left on the road...that happens here a lot actually.

2015 Kia K900 Luxury with VIP Package. Bright Silver on Black
OneFunK900 is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome